Catching Up

I started writing this following piece of fiction on 1st November 2001. Wrote it partially then in a letter format…kinda like a monologue. But now it seems to me that it would be much more alive if I make it a dialogue. Tried creating a new style of literature with the language and essence of Instant Messenger. Also did the naming now. In Bangalore these days, have all the time in the world to finish all my incomplete pieces.

‘Catching up’ – A short story. 
It’s a piece of fiction, all characters are fictitious, any resemblance to person dead or alive is purely coincidental and unintentional. (do people really buy that crap)
© Sanjukta
  

Catching up

Me : Hey! whts up…

Ken: Hey hey hey…look who is here… where the hell have u been…been like light years man…am so upset with u…

Me: Yeah I kno…don’t ask re.. life has been so busy.. no time for nothing…

Ken: you changed numbers or what…tried calling you so many times…

Me: Didn’t change really…its still there…’twas switched off for a while though… had moved to Bangalore those days…was all very sudden…but am back now…

Ken: I see…

Me: So how have you been doing.  How is work. Last I remember you were quitting…remember that special 23rd evening celebration of yours…all those promises you made to me of making it the best ever…and you had a fight with your boss… over that cement contract…  Good Lord you were so mad, you kept cursing your boss…and I waited in vain for my best ever 23rd… and also for the right moment so I could tell you the news and something more that I had to tell.

Ken: yeah man it was crazy… I did quit and took that offer from Frankfurt… remember…I told you bout.

Me: yeah I remember…so you are in Germany now?

Ken: Nope…am back

Me: so you are here?

Ken: ya, here @ home sweet home…and guess who is coming down from UK to lighten up my home today…Jhumpa

Me: Really…wow it’s a grt day today

Ken: yeah… so what was the news bout… Rags told me a few things…

Me: Well the news isn’t news any more.  That’s over.  And yes, you heard it right from rags it was me who couldn’t ‘compromise’…I didn’t want to…was never meant to be…

Ken: Hmm…you never told me anything bout it.

Me: I would have if you would have listened…

[pause]

oh by the way remember that ‘beer buffalo’ project I was talking about.  Well that went great and now I have a great new offer from Amtex handling 10 rounds of ‘beer buffalo buddies’

Ken: oh that’s cool man…I knew you’d make it…you just rock…

Me: Hey did you take your mom to that massage guru? 

Ken: Oh yes I did…

Me: And I hope you too had one of those freaky snake massages, those girls are hot man… ain’t they??

Ken: You bet *wink* *wink*

Me: Heh :) Funny thing happened the other day at shekh and shikh’s place.  I got all horny that night.  If you know what I mean..;-) actually we were going to grand square for a night out and in my car…as usual…rest is hardly mentionable…lol 

Ken: Your car…no ways…are u serious… lol… Oh, that reminds me…did Shekh buy my idea for his 10th anniversary?

Me: Oh yes he damn well did… fact he said thanks to you for that brilliant idea 

Ken: Hmm nice…So how was 23rd this year…

Me: Nothing big, had a get together party. every body was there except you.  wish you were there… even the cocktail was incomplete without you. we all missed you a lot ken. 

Ken: Even the cocktail?? What else was incomplete without me..

Me: Err..Nothing…that’s just a way of saying…eh

Ken: Cmon…That’s not true…tell me what’s it..

Me: Oh well…

Ken: Hey brb… boss ringing

Ken: hey am back… this one is no less an ass hole you know…but better than the previous one… I kinda like this job…

Me: That’s so nice…am glad u like it…keeps u in control eh.

Ken: anyways so where were we…ok…so you had a good party…that’s nice…I’d keep my promise…I promise…would make one of your birthdays the best ever…

Me: Well, thanks. (sigh)

[Pause]

How is Jhumpa doing?

Ken: oh she is great… has changed a lot over time… and I cant tell you how mature she is…understands me so much, I can spend the rest of my life just trying to make her happy you know… don’t want nothing more from life

Me: I can understand

Ken: I would have lost her had it not been for you… the thought still haunts me…still can’t believe those days were for real…

Me: hmm… you know…I wanted to tell you… I think you should try to forget what happened, on that night and otherwise… just think it never happened. I think there’s always a second chance… for you to go back to Mini.  And who knows may be she is still waiting.

Ken: I see…so you think I should try to get back with Mini…

Me: Ya… I mean…

Ken: and I remember you also thought I shouldn’t have gone ahead with the marriage in the first place…

Me: Ya I did… I always felt it won’t work out… always felt you were in some kind of maze and there was no way out for you…you marrying mini seemed to be a retribution of some sort…I guess…

Ken: Samy, let me ask you something… how often do you tell me or any body for that matter bout the men in your life…?? And you are never fall one step short of…in asking and advising bout the women in my life… why is it like this

Me : ah well ken, that’s coz your stories are much more interesting you know… :-p

Ken: yeah right :|

Me: Oh c’mon, now what do I tell ’bout those frivolous feelings and fake orgasms I keep having every other day… they aint mentionable

Ken: ok. What bout that one serious crush you had

Me: Serious crush eh… well you can call it so… I mean crush coz I could never tell him what I felt for him… How every time he walked by my side I had those butterflies in my stomach, how every time he looked at me I felt like a young virgin lying naked in her lover’s arms for the first time…like a first crush in your teens I refused to see logic, failed to find reason for my feelings…and how I never had been so seriously silly in love for anybody else before or after him 

Ken: wow man…so who was he? Why didn’t you tell me man…its not fair

Me: Was amongst common friends…I so wanted to tell you ken, bout my feelings…for him…but you never had the time…or patience to listen…something or the other always came up…

Ken: was amongst common friends…who? Did I know him?

Me: well, yes you knew him…and you still do…             

Ken: who…

Me: I can’t tell you now who… it’s too late… there’s no point anymore…what would you do if I tell you…

Ken: Hey its never too late…may be you can still tell him…actually why didn’t you…what was stopping you…never mind don’t answer that…tell me why can’t you tell him now… where is he, what is he doing now…

Me: no way man I can’t tell him now…it will all be so crazy, and messy, and ridiculous…

Ken: what are you talking bout Samy, why would it be ridiculous…don’t we all long for that, to hear some one tell us they care for us…and are you kidding me…which man would be crazy enough to think its ridiculous that YOU have feelings for him…which man has the balls to ridicule you…

Me: I don’t know…its been too long…he has been away but is around now, been through a lot, marriage, divorce, child custody, litigation…

[pause]

Do you know why I couldn’t tell…?? cause I could never get some private moments with him. His best friend always came in between of us. That one friend who stood by his side through thick and thin, the one who was always their in all his pursuits…that woman would never let me speak of my feelings…

[pause]

Ya… she was always there…like a mirror, like a shadow, no matter where we went, what we did, he always wanted her around and she was always around.  She was too strong and I could never fight her presence to tell him that his ‘best friend’ has fallen in love with him, couldn’t tell him that ‘I’ wanted to be more than a friend…

I couldn’t tell you Ken just couldn’t…the timing were never right…you wanted a friend around, you got a friend around…

[pause]

Wow… after 22 long years…I finally said it didn’t I…shit man its so weird…
 
[pause]

you there?? Hello?? <ding>

Ken: Hey sorry I got DC. Guess I missed some messages… this fucked up connection, dunno how many light years would it take for India to have a ‘real’ broadband…

Oh…ok…err alright…what was my last message to you…? 

Ken: this…… Samy: no way man I can’t tell him now…it will all be so crazy, and messy, and ridiculous…

I did reply to this before getting DC did you get them…??

Me: Yeah I did and…

Ken: Hey I gotta go now… will have to rush to the airport to pick Jhumpa up… but will take it from here next time.

Me: Okay!!! give Jhumpa a big hug from her sexy Aunt Samy. Talk to you later. Take care. Bye. 

Me: And oh BTW for the 1000th time in my fucked up life, crying out loud for Christ’s and all his newly discovered family’s sake (thanks to Dan Brown), light years are units to measure distance not time… huh…

Ken: lol… at times I wonder what would I do with you and your sense of humor not around… Bye for now honey… will call at your old number this weekend…let’s catch up like old days… Take care.

Me: heh. Bye.

7 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. great write up as usual, couldn’t understand th first few paragraphs, it’s a real story wit a climax and an anti-climax, amazing!!!!!!!

    bt couldn’t relate to it, coz i am not such a me, i don’t remain silent for 22 yrs

    Like

  2. great……….you are a great narrator…why dun u try and give competition to Paulo Coelho??????? it was a very nice experience reading the IM story………..

    Like

  3. @”Me” – Been there, done that, chat disconect et all, it’s all too – as you rightly put it – messy. Breakneck, this was especially the admission.

    @Twilight Fairy – Nope, Samy = Mohammed Sami with a sex change.

    Like

  4. Wonderful narration! I’ve had a conversation where the IM decided to disconnect at the right moment and saved me awkwardness, so its very believable :-)

    keeK writing, keep rocking!

    Like

Share your views

