Holi: Then & Now

I, Snig and the gang are planning to celebrate the coming holi with lots of fun and frolic. One of the main item on the celebration agenda is to prepare the traditional Gujia for all. Gujia reminded me of writing this post.

Holi, is the festival of colors, some blue (sad) some green (envy) and some purple (melancholy), not all colors are happy colors you see. 

This is a piece I actually wrote last year on the day of Holi, late at night when all the colors were over. Last year also I and Snig made Gujia and this piece is about that experience which I had gone through at a time when my state of mind was garnished by the following factors:

  • I had just moved out of the comfort of my home where I had spent 29 great years of my life
  • moved to a city which, at first sight, looked weird and disillusioning to me
  • a new job which I took after being job less for 3 months (excuse me, I was on a sabbatical not jobless)
  • a company which didn’t pay me any salary for the month of Feb because I joined after the pay rolls were already prepared.

Needless to say how nice my state of mind was and there I had this over enthusiastic friend, who, with her undying energy and positivity, will flash her charm (read bright white teeth) every now and then, clap her hands and say “Yaar lets do something” and serve yet another delicacy from her idea factory. No prize for guessing who is this friend.

I refrained from publishing this piece for a whole year because I never wanted to discourage her from her enthusiasm, but now I realise, who am I kidding, discourage? and her? Huh, as if…!!

Read on (Snigs, a little bit of sarcasm, humor and lots of love :P)

I often find myself doing the things that Snigs wants to do, not often, all the time. I find myself saying yes to all her pursuits…may be because I don’t have anything better to do, or may be, I just can’t say ‘no’ to her.

She wanted to make gujia for her PG mates, my PG mates and our office colleagues on the occasion of Holi. A very bad idea to me. I would rather sit at home laze around, sleep till late, watch some TV and write. But she wanted to party and I gave in. I tried telling her once, “I don’t like your PG much”. But that didn’t work.

So, my holi today was spent in utter boredom. First we made the Gujias. She made, I only gave moral support because I didn’t have a choice. Imagine the enthu, it’s a PG one kitchen 2 gas burners shared by 9 girls, amidst all that she made Gujias, enough for about 20 people. For what gain? I don’t know!

Anyway, we then packed the Gujias and went to her PG. She and the other girls in her PG played with water and colors and did a lot of dirty dancing amounting to lesbian eroticism.  I strictly told them to not put those disgusting stuffs on me coz I don’t like this festival much. Also, as much as I love dancing, dancing with these girls on a weak frequency radio is just not my thing. 

After all these crazy exhibits of fun we decided to eat out.

Now eating out again is not my idea of fun. I am not a foodie to begin with. I can’t tell you what restaurant is good for what cuisine, I won’t be able to tell, “oh this shammi kabab is not as good as the one we had in xyz place” or “this shahi paneer has too much of xyz spice in it”…blah blah. And that goes true for most food. Except for a few things like sizzlers, biryani, pizza, nachos, I am extremely unenthusiastic and inattentive about food or eating out.  I love my own cooking much more on any given day and then of course mom’s cooking is to be blamed for this apathy towards eating out. She just about brought the best of the whole world’s  cuisine to her kitchen so we never had this excitement about eating out.

So we went to Sigma Mall food court. A freaking costly place it is. I ended up spending Rs. 250/-  on a Mexican dish, taste of which I have forgotten even before I begin to write this piece.  What a point less way of spending money. After eating the ‘girls’ went for shopping. And as I waited outside the food bazaar where all the ‘girls’ were busy shopping I thought “I could have got a music CD with that money. In fact I could have simply saved Rs. 270/- if I would have just stayed at home today.”

So that was the year that was. But things have changed a lot. Life is much relaxed and at peace now. I like it in Bangalore, as some of my friends said back then, Bangalore grows over you with time. I have also learnt to find the positive side to this over enthusiasm, the great toothy friends that we make in the process.

I love my life :-)

5 thoughts on “Holi: Then & Now

  1. Finally, You said you love your life! God bless you with all the happiness in life. Happy Holi.. (Holi kab hai? Kab hai Holi??.. Gabbar singh style)

    Like

  2. This was fun-reading…. I have never celebrated holi, except when I was in a PG around 6 years back. Now this year, I am going to in-laws place for Holi and I am kind of worried of having stubborn color trails when I walk into office on Monday …. hope you have a blast this time … and yes Gujjia reminds me – i am sure my MIL will see to it that I make those!!!!

    Like

  3. Sending your way,
    a warm wishes especially
    on holi,to add colour
    of joy to your life
    to make it happy and worth while…
    Happy Holi

    Like

Share your views

