My small take on the facebook event – Free Hug campaign world wide

While we were discussing the Free Hugs Campaign for V-Day, at least 10 people brought to my notice that there was already such an event planned, a world wide free hug campaign, details of which were up on Facebook.

I find it surprising that an world wide event can entirely be planned online via facebook or other social networking sites, while the event is only possible offline. You can spread the word through facebook but can you actually plan the event? But while I was planning the campaign they all pointed me to the facebook event so I thought may be there are some special guidelines to follow or somebody is dedicated in each city world wide to plan and implement the event off line and we need to get in touch with that person.

But when I checked out the facebook event page I realized there is no such planning involved. They have just declare 13th to 14th as 24 hours of Free hugs campaign. They have not set any guidelines. No individual is actually leading the campaign in each city. I guess they have left it to the users to organize their own Free Hugs and spread the word through that page. This is indeed a great way to bring young generation across the world on a same platform for a common cause.

So far so good but there was one thing that really pricked my eyes and now it seems the event page isn’t merely an attempt to spread the word and unite. It also is a marketing strategy for a certain T-shirt maker and seller. There was a link to this T-shirt site on the main event page, these are cool Free Hugs T-shirts. Not for free.

Does anybody else think its a marketing strategy?

Here’s the link to the facebook event page.

5 thoughts on “My small take on the facebook event – Free Hug campaign world wide

  1. Hi, Free Hugs campaign is not new. It has been going on in different parts of the world for quite some time and it has got nothing to do with Valentine Day.

    I myself participated in a Free Hugs initiative in Geneva, Switzerland during 2006.

    BTW .. I do not support your ‘Hug Karo, Pub Bharo’ andolan … i did not like the whole linking of ‘free hugs’ with ‘valentine day’ and ‘pubs’ … the three are not related and now that this initiative has linked them together … In india, ‘Free Hugs’ will no longer enjoy the innocence with which it starter .. it might forever be looked upon with suspicion.

    I know i am late to register my ‘protest’ against your ‘protest’ but nevertheless …

    Like

  2. @HK

    Although I should quite simply be ignoring you, because a commentator doesn’t deserved to be read and responded when in the opening line itself he/she has proved how incompetent they are in reading a piece and comprehending it.

    Yet I am responding because everybody should know where they stand.

    First of all, why do you bother to tell me that Free Hug campaign is not new when my whole post is about the *already existing* free hug campaign. I need not have written this post at all if I didn’t already know that there was *already* a free hug campaign. Why bless me with that great piece of information? Did you straight jump to the comment box without reading the post? Came prepared with a pre conceived comment?

    Second of all, what do you mean you don’t support *my* free hug campaign. Free hugs are copyrighted is it?

    And third of all…Innocence? What innocence? all I see in that *already* existing free hug campaign is a marketing strategy for some people selling T-shirts. Soon there will be other merchandising, branding and you know the story.

    Fourth, while me and my friends stood there on MG Road, in the sun for 3 hours spreading smile, hugging 100s of people, connecting to 100s of more curious on lookers, you were at some insignificant part of the world expressing your protest against us doing all that. You have a problem with people spreading love and smiles…? I pity you.

    Finally, if our little effort changed the whole course of Free Hugs in this country forever…wow I take that as a huge compliment. I got some powers to say the least.

    Like

Share your views

