Stephen Gately: The ‘New begginging’ was too short, RIP Steo

Woke up to this absolutely shocking news, Stephen Gately of the famous Irish boyband Boyzone is dead. BBC reports,

Boyzone singer Stephen Gately has died suddenly at the age of 33 while on holiday in Majorca. Spanish police said there were no signs of suspicious circumstances, but the cause of death is not yet known.

Gately was on holiday with his long-term partner Andy Cowles. His bandmates said they were “completely devastated” and are now travelling to Majorca.

Boyzone manager Louis Walsh has pulled out of Sunday’s edition of ITV1’s X Factor in the wake of Gately’s death.

Looks like 2009 is going down in history as the year of shocking celebrity deaths and of all of them Stephen’s loss shocked me the most. Even though I wasn’t exactly a teenager in those days, but I have been obsessed with Boyzone, Ronan and Stephen in particular in the 90s. So many memories are right now flashing through my mind.

I don’t even how to begin telling about how much I have been influenced by Stephen’s news of being a homosexual. I think I owe my LGBT rights sensitivity to him, I didn’t even know what is gay unless he came out and hat it not been for him I wouldn’t have taken interest in their world.

He came out after 7 years of hiding and poured his heart in his first single from his solo album, A New Beginning. It was a new beginning for his solo career after Boyzone as a band retired, and it was the start of a new life where he could proudly be who he really was. He wrote,

stephen-gately-new-beginning-1Seven years I’ve waited
Seven years of holding on
Yes, it’s been
Yes, it’s been
Always get my faith and
I always knew this day would come
Let everybody know

I’ve made up my mind
It’s time for a new beginning
I’m living my life, yeah
It’s time for a new beginning

There’s a new day coming
I’m getting ready for a change
Yes, I am
Yes, I am
Gotta keep on running
Gotta be a better way
Yes, there is
Yes, there is

I gotta do what’s in your heart
Say what’s on your mind
Everybody (everybody)
Gotta be true to myself
I feel now that it’s my time
Let everybody know, yeah

[Link to the video on youtube]

Who would have known the new beginning that he was looking forward to was supposed to be so short lived, so many things remained unfinished. Stephen’s last tweet

Still busy – lots going on. Focussing on finishing my book next so may be quiet here.”

Now his twitter stream would forever be quiet. Why such unfortunate things happen?

Rest in peace Steo, we would miss you so dearly. Strength and peace for your family, Lots of Love.

Time to rush to work for me, will write more about him later. Meanwhile check out the following links.

Stephen Gately a Life in Picture by Telegraph

Stephen Gately Obituary by Telegraph

Sir Elton John pays tribute to Stephen

One thought on “Stephen Gately: The ‘New begginging’ was too short, RIP Steo

Share your views

