Mention in Sunday Guardian and TED Fellows Friday

Social Media Baithak coverage by Sunday Guardian

Season’s Greetings to all my readers. Hope the festive season has greeted you well so far and shall keep you warm and cozy through Eid, Diwali, Christmas and all other special days to come.

I just came back from a month long vacation to West Bengal, revisiting my native land almost after 15 years. The trip was mainly about knowing my maternal roots, spending time with my aging grandma who is still a woman of substance at 85 and experiencing the Durga Pujo in small town Jalpaiguri, a place where I was born. There are many things to share from this month long vacation and I will keep writing about them through the next few weeks.

Wanted to share with you two of the latest developments in the work side. Social Media Baithak initiative organized by my start up Samyukta Media in association with Abhay Adhikari from York, UK was a great success and I got lots of kind words and accolades from friends and peers for having organized it. I have made lot of friends in the Non-profit sector and hope to work with them in the near feature. The event got mainstream media attention and got a mention on the Sunday Guardian.

The TED Blog featured me on the Fellow’s Friday section. They have published an extensive interview which they conducted over phone. The focus of the conversation was on my experience with personal blogging and how it has helped me realize my own potentials and the importance of social media in the non-profit sector. Below is an excerpt of the interview.

Blogging about her personal life helped Sanjukta Basu find her voice. Despite Indian social mores restricting women’s self expression, Sanjukta has opened up her heart online, empowering others to do the same. Compelled by the transformations social media created in her own life, Sanjukta develops strategies to make the voiceless’ stories heard.

After quitting your job as a lawyer, you’ve begun evangelizing social media to India’s nonprofit sector. What are you working on these days?

Most recently I was handling the online page of a campaign run by an organization called Breakthrough. It’s a campaign about domestic violence, called “Ring the Bell,” or Bell Bajao. It’s a media campaign about what you should do if you hear of domestic violence in your neighborhood. This campaign had many components: TV, newspaper and Internet. I was handling the online bit of the campaign.

I worked on it for the last seven months, and it was quite interesting work for me to do. I moved on because I realized that whenever an organization is doing a social campaign online, a communications or tech consultant can only do so much in terms of setting up the campaign, strategies, and so on. After the consultant initiates the online work, I think it’s important for the organization’s staff — who is actually doing the work offline — to build the online conversations. They are the real people who have been working with victims and survivors on the ground, and who really know the issues.

Read the rest of the interview on TED Blog.

One thought on “Mention in Sunday Guardian and TED Fellows Friday

  1. small town durga pujas are fun!!!…..
    i spent first days of durga puo in Nayagarh, a small town in orissa and it was refreshing to watch the pujo being celebrated there, no frills, completely traditional….

    Like

Share your views

